Potato and Fava Bean Casserole

Hello friends! It has been way too long since I updated my blog, but now with a new job, a new home, and more free time I can finally settle back into my routine. I have been making a lot of changes to my diet lately, decreasing meat, cheese, and increasing vegetables and fruits. I don’t like to use labels, because I don’t consider myself a vegetarian, but more of an exploratory eater looking for the healthiest way to feed my body. The boyfriend is not too happy with my lack of meat eating and I have to remind him time and time again that it isn’t forever it’s just something that I feel I need to do now to cleanse my body and get ready for my vacation to Israel.

IMG_1831

Having said that, it can get kind of mundane eating the same thing over and over again so I decided to splurge and purchase a vegan middle eastern cookbook, “A Vegan Taste of the Middle East” by Linda Majzlik. The book is pretty cheap, $12 on amazon, although there are no pictures the recipes are pretty simple to follow and you can substitute your own ideas for some of her dishes. The only thing that I find kind of frustrating is the fact that she uses all these middle eastern words that I keep having to google like Auberigne is eggplant.

IMG_1832

This weekend was my first weekend not having to work a second job, so I decided that cultivating a perfect casserole would be a great way to ration my food for the week and enjoy some much needed quality time in the kitchen. This recipe is super easy to follow, I added my own spices because I didn’t have coriander and couldn’t find it in the grocery store. Also the book is written in oz but I use cups so I will just have to give you the measurements that worked for me.

Potato and Fava Bean Casserole 

IMG_1841

Ingredients: 

  • 5 medium potatoes peeled and diced
  • 2 small carrots or one big carrot peeled and diced
  • 1 cup of fava beans (I couldn’t find any cooked fava beans so I had to get the frozen kind)
  • 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms
  • 4 cups of vegetable stock
  • 2 cloves of garlic chopped finely
  • 1 medium onion chopped finely
  • 2 TBS canola oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon white pepper
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cajun seasoning
  • 1/2 cup of non-dairy yogurt (if you don’t wish to make this recipe vegan you can just use regular yogurt)

Instructions: 

In a medium saucepan fry the onion and garlic in the canola oil until golden brown, about 5 minutes.

Add the potatoes and seasoning and mix well for another 5 minutes.

Next add the remainder of the vegetables (mushrooms, carrots, and fava beans) and mix well about 5-7 minutes.

After the vegetables have been mixed stir in the vegetable stock and let it boil, then simmer for 10 minutes while you preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Transfer the content to a casserole dish, spread the non-dairy yogurt over the content and then put in the oven for 45 minutes.

After the timer goes off please make sure to check that the potatoes are ready, some ovens might work better than others so always make sure the potatoes are nice and soft.

I served this dish with some rice, but I also think it would go great with salad or flat bread. I hope you enjoyed this recipe and I look forward to adding more delicious discoveries as I move into my very own place!

Leave a Reply

