Red Quinoa, the Obsession

I’m not a huge fan of quinoa, actually until recently I didn’t really see the reason why everyone raved so must about it. Quinoa to me tasted blend, boring, and the texture had me thrown for a spin. Then this week it finally hit me, It’s March and summer, bikini season, is only a couple of months away. When in need of losing a few pounds, toning up, or just feeling a bit more refreshed quinoa can be a great tool in achieving success.

photo 1 (33)

photo 2 (38)

photo 3 (33)

photo 5 (24)

The quinoa salad is such a diverse and easy recipe to create. This specific recipe utilized red quinoa, because I still had a huge bag of it just sitting in my cupboard, and the many vegetables that adorned my fridge doors. I also added Zatar, because I’m in love with the flavor and there is just something about the green spice that makes me go ga-ga. I hope you enjoy my easy to make, healthy, delicious, and super portable recipe. It’s great for lunch, dinner, or even to pair with a omelette for breakfast.

photo 4 (28)

photo 3 (34)

photo (68)

RED QUINOA AND ZATAR SALAD

Ingredients:

1/2 red bell pepper chopped

1 persian cucumber chopped

1 small radish chopped

1 scallion (green onion) chopped

1 tomato chopped

2 TBS of Zatar

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 lemon squeezed juice

1/2 cup cooked red quinoa

2 TBS olive oil

Instructions:

place the chopped cucumbers in a medium-sized bowl. Then add the tomatoes, radish, pepper. Add a little salt and pepper and mix. Then add the scallions and quinoa and mix well. Next add the Zatar, olive oil, and lemon juice. Mix well and taste to see if more salt and pepper needs to be added.

You can refrigerate this salad overnight and it makes for a great lunch or dinner the next day.

Leave a Reply

