Add a Little Green in Between; Zucchini Cakes

I love those nights where you watch Cup Cake Wars on TV, while flipping through recipes online, and glance over at the open cookbooks on your bed, yep that was my night. A few days ago I was looking for a light lunch to pack to work. I had out done the chicken and fish, and I felt like something new had to be added, so I thought why not zucchini cakes, or fritters. This recipe is very simple, it’s a great on-the-go item.

photo 1 (29)

photo 4 (23)

photo 4 (24)

Recently I have been experimenting with spicier flavors. Like I said before I’m not one to jump on the Tabasco sauce, on the contrary I avoid spicy flavors wherever I go, but I don’t know lately things have been changing. These zucchini cakes have a little kick to them, with added red pepper flakes, and just a pinch of chili powder.

ZUCCHINI CAKES

Ingredients:

2 cups grated zucchini (dried by wash cloth or paper towels)

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (you can add more to make it spicier)

1 pinch of chili powder (you can add more depending on your level of spiciness)

1/4 cup of monetary jack cheese

vegetable oil to fry the zucchini (about 2 TBS will do, but add more if needed)

1 egg

salt and pepper to add if needed

Instructions:

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl, except for the vegetable oil. Mix well until the mixture forms together. Heat a medium-sized sauce pan with 2 TBS of oil and let it warm. Once the oil is hot take out an ice cream scooper or a spoon and scoop out the mixture into small circles, flattening each one as you place it in the pan. Let them cook for about 2-3 minutes then flip. They should be getting a golden brown color. For a crisper look you can leave them on for about 5 minutes, but check frequently to make sure the cakes don’t burn.

*This dish pairs well with a side salad

 

 

2 thoughts on “Add a Little Green in Between; Zucchini Cakes

Leave a Reply

