Chipotle Chicken Chili by The Pioneer Woman

I’ve recently become quiet obsessed with the Pioneer Woman show. There is just something about her recipes that warms my heart and draws me to watch more of her magical creations on Netflix.

photo taken from pinterest.com

photo taken from pinterest.com

Last night I was going through her blog trying to find something I could make. I didn’t want to put a lot of sugar or flour in my meal. I didn’t want to buy too many things, because my boyfriend and I are both trying to cut our spending, and I wanted to make a meal that would be great as a packed lunch the next day, and that is when I found her chipotle chicken chili recipe. Super simple, looked delicious, and easy to make.

The boyfriend and I met up at the grocery store and started on our search for the various ingredients we were missing. After our brisk walk home, since the store is only two blocks away, I started to cook and the boyfriend was plugging in his workout for the day into this cool program on the computer.

The whole ordeal took about an hour and a half, since you have to let the chili simmer for an hour, and the results were incredible! The food was full of flavor, there was a hint of spiciness, and it went perfectly with a bottle of corona and movie date night.

You will notice that my recipe is probably a lot shorter in the ingredients factor, because we were on a tight budget it was easier to buy a few ingredients and hope for a good turnout. All in all I owe my thank yous to the Pioneer Woman for her easy yet pleasurable recipe.

chicken in beer, because that is how we do things here

chicken in beer, because that is how we do things here

poured in the diced tomatoes

poured in the diced tomatoes

photo 4 (20)

then come the beans and corn

photo 2 (28)

and dinner was complete

photo (59)

photo 3 (24)

Ingredients:

1/2 large onion chopped

2 garlic gloves minced

4 pieces of chicken breast cut into cubes (mine were already cooked from the night before)

12 oz can of diced tomatoes

1 can of pinto beans

1 can of corn (I like the naturally sweet corn)

1 corona

spices – curry, cajun, salt, garlic powder, and pepper

1/4 cup all-purpose flour (she used corn flour but I didn’t have any)

Instructions:

Place about 2 TBS of olive oil in a medium-sized pot cook the onion and garlic for about 2 minutes, until they begin to soften and the onions become translucent. Add the chicken, if it is already cooked it will take less time for you to just warm it up, and cook the chicken until a hint of golden brown is present, about 5 minutes. Next you will add about 3/4 of the beer, I used corona but any beer will do the trick, and let it simmer for about 4 minutes. If you don’t want to use beer the Pioneer Woman also suggest that you use low sodium chicken broth. Then you will add the tomatoes and stir the content. Next you add the pinto beans and the corn. Then you will add the spices, I kind of just threw them in there so I’m not exactly sure how much of each thing, but you can put about a tablespoon of the curry and cajun, and just a hint of garlic, salt, and pepper. After you put the spices in cover the pot with a lid and let it simmer for about an hour. After the chili has simmered for an hour you will combine the flour and the left over beer in a small mixing bowl. Then take the mixture and pour it into the pot. Stir the mixture in to thicken the chili, and you are done. These are served great with tortilla chips!

Leave a Reply

