Bringing Some Spanish Flare to Work

This morning I knew I had to meal prep lunch for work for the next couple of days. I had been constantly tempted to try out a recipe from Plenty, but I had no idea which one I could do. I didn’t have time to rush to the grocery store, I didn’t want to use a lot of butter or flour, and I didn’t want the meal to be too heavy. I felt overwhelmed by the amount of options offered by Yotam. The book has so many salads, pies, and pasta dishes, the list goes on forever. Most of the recipes I was missing essential ingredients for, some seemed to take a really long time, so I kept on searching as I was eating my breakfast.

photo 1-6

photo 4-5

photo 3-5

Then it happened, I found the perfect recipe to have fun lunch. It’s called the “Multi-Vegetable Paella” found on Page 80 of the book Plenty. Although the original recipe calls for many different vegetables I had to kind of condense it, due to my lack of resources at home.

photo 2-7

photo 3-6

photo 4-6

photo 1-8

photo 2-8

photo 3-7

photo 5-6

The dish came out amazing and although it says the serving size is for two I can more than likely turn this dish into a 4 serving meal with a side salad, which I will make later tonight to pack away for work.

photo 4-7

photo 3-8

photo 4-8

photo 5-7

Multi-Vegetable Paella by Yotam Ottolenghi (page 80 of Plenty)

Ingredients:

3 TBS olive oil

1 white onion (the recipe calls for Spanish, but I just had a regular one) chopped

2 small bell pepper (I used two halves of a yellow and a red bell peppers) cut into strips

1 garlic clove (the recipe asked for 2)

1/4 tsp paprika (the recipe asks for smoked)

1/2 tsp turmeric (the recipe asks for grounded but I just had regular from the bottle)

1/4 tsp chili pepper ( the recipe asks for cayenne pepper)

1 cup basmati rice (the recipe asks for calasparra rice or another short-grain paella rice, which I didn’t have)

6 1/2 TBS good-quality sherry

1 tsp saffron threads

salt

2 cups boiling chicken stock (the recipe asked for vegetable, but I didn’t have it)

12 cherry tomatoes (the recipe asks for plum tomatoes) halved

5 pitted kalamata olives (the recipe asks for 15) halved or crushed

2 TBS chopped parsley

4 lemon wedges

Instructions:

First I sautéed the onions in about 2 TBS olive oil for about 2 minutes. Then I added the bell peppers and stirred them around for about 6 minutes. Next I added all the spices. I suggest using a timer, because it helps you keep track of the time. Then I added the crushed garlic and mixed it in with the bell peppers and onions for about 2 minutes.

Next I added the rice and another TBS of olive oil. After I mixed the rice for about a minute I added the sherry and let it simmer for 2 minutes. Next I added the chicken broth and let it simmer on medium-low heat for 20 minutes. Yotam says not to stir or cover the pot during the cooking. After I had cooked the rice for 20 minutes I noticed that the top was not all the way cooked, so I had to stir it and leave it to cook for another 6 minutes, until all the liquid had absorbed.

After the rice had cooked I tasted the mixture and added a little salt. Lastly I took the paella off of the heat and added the cherry tomatoes and the olives. Then I garnished the dish with the chopped parsley.

Leave a Reply

