Breaking the Walls of Beginning Baking

I used to be scared of cooking, even looking at a cookbook made me laugh because the though of me, Bat-el Miller, cooking was just that hysterical. A fantasy so far from the truth that my mother still has to pinch herself sometimes to realize that I actually am able to feed myself tummy-warming, mouth-watering, happiness-inducing recipes.

Apart from cooking basic meals, baking was so far off my radar. Me? A baker? I don’t have the fancy tools for that. I don’t know the first thing about baking, and what’s more if you make just one mistake in baking your whole project could be tossed away after hours of hard work. Yes, I believed that baking was NOT for me! I fought it for a long time, when my brother made Quiche from scratch I coyly peered over his shoulder to watch him produce the fresh crust. When my mother took up apple pie making and dessert baking I watched in awe as she produced this decadent sugary products that were so hard to resist.

Then came my turn! I had been following the Kosher in the Kitch blog written by the incredibly talented, genuine, sweet and beautiful Nina Safar. Her hamantaschen featured posts were like looking into a Tiffany’s glass window and day dreaming about the chance to hold just one piece of treasure. I was mesmerized, and very suspicious of whether or not the recipes where just as simple as she made them out to be. I decided now or never, Purim is coming up, I need to learn how to make this dessert for the sake of my heritage, a little dramatic don’t you think…?

photo 1 (19)

photo 2 (19)

photo 3 (15)

photo 2 (18)

photo 1 (18)

I looked up her recipe, I got out the ingredients I had in my house, luckily I still had everything tucked away in a box for baking in the very back of our kitchen closet. I am so happy to have her as the first recipe of my Borrowed Recipes Project!

photo taken from www.kosherinthekitch.com, recipe created by Nina Safar

photo taken from http://www.kosherinthekitch.com, recipe created by Nina Safar

I can say that I am no longer afraid to bake! Still recovering from the shock of my experience and triumph, self-doubt did ensue in some of the process. My parents loved the cookies now I get to share them for real in few weeks when Purim comes around.

photo 1 (17)

photo 2 (17)

photo 5 (10)

*The recipe says to bake the goodies for 8-12 minutes on 350 degrees. I left mine for 14 minutes, because I didn’t know that homemade hamantaschen aren’t supposed to come out crispy golden brown or anything, like they do in the boxes at the supermarket, but next time I do the recipe I’ll take them out at 10 minutes and I suggest you do so as well, so they are a little softer. The taste is still so powerfully delicious!

Leave a Reply

