Pass Me Those Tuna Cakes

Last night I came home to find out both cars were being occupied by my parents. Well there was no way to go to the grocery store now to get ground turkey meat for my turkey burgers, so I had to improvise. Since I’m on so many food restrictions right now it is kind of difficult for me do whip something up. I can’t have processed food, no condiments, no artificial sugars, no acidic fruits, no tomatoes, and the list goes on and on. You can image why it can be a little stressful to get home and find out your plan for the night completely fell through.

Well I’m the type of person who is a problem solver not a problem dweller, so after accepting the fact that I would not be eating turkey burgers tonight I decided to come up with something else. I saw that we had tuna packets in the pantry, and although I can’t have tuna salad because of the no condiments thing, I knew there was something I could do with it.

Long story short I went a little creative and made tuna cakes, and it actually turned out great, because now I have lunch for work and I had a great dinner last night. I also made mashed sweet potato, brilliant way to spend the day.

Tuna cakes with a side of cucumber

Tuna cakes with a side of cucumber

Tuna Cakes

Ingredients:

1 packet of tuna in water not oil

1 grated carrot

1 TBS of chopped parsley

1 TBS coconut flour

1 egg

Instructions: In a bowl combine the tuna, carrot, parsley, flour, and egg and mix. Heat up a skillet with 2 TBS of coconut oil. Take about 2 TBS of tuna and round into a ball, then flatten and place in the skillet. Continue until all the tuna is gone. Cook each side for about 3-5 minutes, then flip.

Leave a Reply

